PEC.com
Vendor cost framework

Hosted Backstage cost in 2026: when hosted beats self-host, and when it does not

Roadie publishes $24 per developer a month; Frontside, Liatrio and Spotify Portal quote privately. The cost question is not 'is hosted cheaper' but 'cheaper than which size of platform team'.

Roadie Teams (list)
$24 / dev / mo
The one published rate in the category: $288 a developer a year, 50 to 150 devs, so about $28,800 for 100. Checked 26 Sep 2026.
Frontside, Liatrio, Spotify Portal
On quote
No published pricing. Frontside and Liatrio are consulting-led; Spotify Portal is a custom annual subscription.
What hosted removes
0.5-1 FTE
Roughly half to one platform engineer of operational and upgrade work taken off your team.

The crossover math, made simple

The honest question about hosted Backstage is not whether it is cheaper than $0 (the open-source licence). It is whether it is cheaper than the platform engineer (or fraction of one) you would otherwise need to assign to Backstage operations.

A senior platform engineer loaded costs about $234,000 a year (see /salary for the multi-source reconciliation). Half a senior platform engineer of operations and upgrade work costs about $117,000 a year. If a hosted-Backstage subscription comes in materially under that number for your org size, the financial case for hosted is straightforward: you are buying back roughly half an engineer of capacity. If hosted comes in close to or above that number, the case becomes about reliability, focus, and where your platform team is going to spend its time, not raw cost.

For a 100-engineer organisation, the one published rate in this category (Roadie Teams at $24 a developer a month) works out at about $28,800 a year. That is well below the half-engineer crossover, so on the evidence we can check the financial case is clearly in favour of hosted unless you can show the platform team would have spent that capacity on something more valuable. The quote-only vendors bundle differing amounts of consulting, so their numbers will be higher and are worth testing against the same $117,000 line rather than assumed. For organisations with mature platform teams of eight or more engineers, the operating cost of Backstage is small enough on a per-engineer basis that self-hosted often wins on raw cost again; see /backstage-cost for the self-host counterpart.

What hosted actually does for you

The operations lines that a hosted-Backstage provider takes off your team's plate are concrete and relatively predictable:

  • Installation and infrastructure. No Kubernetes manifests to write, no Postgres database to provision, no object store to wire up, no certificates to rotate. Provider runs the Backstage app, the database, the search index, and the asset store.
  • Authentication integration. The provider's onboarding takes care of the common identity providers (Okta, Auth0, Azure AD, Google Workspace, GitHub). You configure once and it stays configured.
  • Upgrades to Backstage core. The provider typically runs one to two minor versions behind upstream and absorbs the breaking-change cycles. You pick up new features about two to four weeks after they ship upstream, with no merge work.
  • Standard plugin maintenance. The stock plugin set (catalogue, scaffolder, TechDocs, search, kubernetes, GitHub-actions, and a long tail of common community plugins) is kept current by the provider.
  • Operational on-call. The provider's SRE team handles Backstage uptime. You configure status-page subscriptions and add Backstage to your tier-2 service inventory rather than tier-1.

Across those lines, the time saved is realistically about half to one full-time-equivalent of platform-engineer capacity at year one (when operations and integration cost is highest), dropping to about a third of an FTE at steady state.

What hosted does not do for you

The bigger surprise for teams new to hosted Backstage is what stays the same as if you had self-hosted. These lines are platform-team work either way:

  • Plugin authoring. The stock plugins are good defaults; the integrations that are specific to your stack are still yours to build. A typical mid-sized organisation ends up with three to ten custom plugins by year two. Plugin development is unchanged by hosting.
  • Content debt. TechDocs needs writers, not just a publishing pipeline. The hosted provider does not write your docs.
  • Adoption work. Office hours, internal training, scorecard reviews, golden-path advocacy, the long unsexy slog of getting product teams to actually use the platform. The hosted provider does not run this for you.
  • Service-catalogue data discipline. The catalogue is only valuable if entity data stays fresh. The platform team owns the ETL from your sources of truth (Git repos, CMDB, ownership spreadsheets) into Backstage.
  • Identity-provider edge cases. Standard integrations work; the unusual ones (custom SSO, complex SCIM provisioning, multi-tenant identity) still need engineering attention.

Hosted vendors at a glance

Three names dominate the hosted-Backstage category as of mid-2026, plus a long tail of consultancies offering managed Backstage as a service.

  • Roadie is the one vendor here that publishes a rate ($24 per developer a month on Teams, 50 to 150 developers), and pairs it with strong out-of-the-box plugin coverage and a heavy focus on getting non-engineering teams (security, finance, compliance) value out of Backstage. Note that Teams and Growth are now marketed to existing subscribers, so new buyers are routed to a quote.
  • Frontside takes a consulting-led posture, with hosted Backstage paired to retained-engineering services. Useful where the organisation needs help with plugin authoring, not just operations.
  • Liatrio bundles hosted Backstage into a broader platform-as-a-service offering that includes other developer-experience components. Useful for organisations that want a single contract.

Pricing across all three (and the long tail) sits roughly in the same band at standard tier. Differentiation is on plugin curation, services bundled, and target customer size, not on raw subscription cost.

Spotify Portal for Backstage: the first-party option

Roadie, Frontside, and Liatrio are third parties running the open-source Backstage codebase for you. Spotify itself now sells a first-party managed offering, Spotify Portal for Backstage, which it describes as "Backstage in a box". It went generally available in October 2025 after an extended beta, with early customers including the Linux Foundation and PagerDuty.

Portal is a fully managed SaaS: Spotify runs the infrastructure, the upgrades, and the installation. A setup wizard links it to your GitHub organisation and cloud provider, and a catalogue wizard imports your services. On top of the open-source catalogue and software templates, the subscription bundles Spotify's premium plugins (Soundcheck, Insights, RBAC, Skill Exchange) that are otherwise sold separately.

On cost, Spotify prices Portal as an annual subscription flexed to your Backstage usage and capacity rather than a published per-seat rate. There is no public list price and Spotify does not disclose figures, so the only way to get a number is to request a quote (a free trial is available). Until you have one, the third-party hosted bands above are the closest public proxy. The strategic logic is identical to any hosted Backstage: you are buying back roughly half a platform engineer of operations work, and because the substrate is open-source Backstage your plugins, entity model, and templates stay portable if you ever move.

The portability advantage versus commercial IDPs

On published list rates, hosted Backstage via Roadie ($288 a developer a year) undercuts the commercial IDPs that disclose: Port at $480 a seat a year on Standard and Cortex at an implied $780 a user a year. OpsLevel discloses nothing. The strategic difference is the bigger one either way: hosted Backstage is the open-source Backstage codebase, with the open-source plugin ecosystem and the open-source extension model. If you ever want to migrate (between hosted providers, or from hosted to self-host) your plugins, your entity model, your scaffolder templates all port.

Commercial IDPs are proprietary substrates with their own extension models. The cost of migrating off them later is real and worth factoring in to the long-term cost picture. Whether that strategic optionality is worth choosing hosted Backstage over a commercial alternative depends on the specifics of your team and roadmap; the per-vendor pages (/port-cost, /cortex-cost, /opslevel-cost, /compass-cost) cover each in detail.

Failure modes specific to hosted Backstage

Two failure modes show up often enough to call out:

  • The platform team treats hosted Backstage as a turnkey product and skimps on plugin development, then wonders six months later why adoption stalled. Hosted removes operations cost; it does not generate platform value on its own.
  • The team accumulates custom plugins on the hosted provider and only later realises the upgrade-tax for the custom plugins still falls on them, eroding the headcount savings the hosted purchase was supposed to deliver. The cost saving is real but smaller than the marketing suggests once plugin maintenance is counted honestly.

Bottom line

Hosted Backstage, at Roadie's published $288 a developer a year, is one of the most cost-efficient ways for a small platform team (under five engineers) at a 50 to 200 product-engineer organisation to deliver an IDP. It takes about half an engineer of operations cost off the team without locking you into a proprietary substrate.

The conversation changes at larger platform-team sizes: self-host becomes cheaper at scale because the operations cost amortises across more engineers and more value flows through the platform. The crossover is approximately 300 product engineers or eight to ten platform engineers, whichever you hit first. Below the crossover, hosted. Above it, the maths flips.

Roadie's rate is quoted from the Roadie pricing page, checked live 26 September 2026 ($24 per developer a month on Teams, 50 to 150 developers, existing subscribers only; Growth and Enterprise Context custom). The absence of published pricing at Frontside, Liatrio and Spotify Portal for Backstage was confirmed the same day; we publish no estimate of what they charge. Comparison rates are from the Port and Atlassian Compass pricing pages and the Cortex AWS Marketplace listing. Annual figures are our arithmetic over published per-seat rates; engineer-cost figures are our own model at the loaded rate on /salary. Upstream project: Backstage.

Frequently asked questions

How much does hosted Backstage cost?
One vendor in this category publishes a rate and the rest do not, so here is the split. Roadie publishes $24 per developer a month on its Teams tier (50 to 150 developers), which is $288 a developer a year, or about $28,800 a year for 100 developers; Growth and Enterprise Context are custom-priced, and as of 26 September 2026 Roadie markets Teams and Growth to existing subscribers only, so a new buyer goes to quote. Frontside and Liatrio publish no pricing at all; both are consulting-led and contact-sales. Spotify Portal for Backstage is a custom annual subscription with no public list price. Use Roadie's published $288 a developer a year as the anchor you negotiate around, and be wary of any single band quoted across the whole category, because these vendors sell materially different things: pure hosting at one end, hosting bundled with retained engineering at the other.
How much does Spotify Portal for Backstage cost?
Spotify Portal for Backstage is Spotify's own first-party managed Backstage, which the company calls 'Backstage in a box'. It went generally available in October 2025 after an extended beta. Spotify prices it as an annual subscription flexed to your Backstage usage and capacity rather than a published per-seat rate, so there is no public list price and Spotify does not disclose figures; you request a quote and a free trial is available. The subscription bundles Spotify's premium plugins (Soundcheck, Insights, RBAC, Skill Exchange) on top of the open-source catalogue and software templates. Because the rate is custom, the third-party hosted bands on this page are the closest public proxy until you have a Spotify quote.
When does hosted Backstage beat self-hosted Backstage on cost?
Hosted Backstage wins on cost when your platform team is small (under five engineers), when you do not have deep Kubernetes operations expertise, when your Backstage usage stays close to the default plugin set, or when you would otherwise need to hire a platform engineer specifically to operate Backstage. The crossover test is simple: half a senior platform engineer of operations work costs about $117,000 a year loaded at the $234,000 rate on our salary page. Roadie's published rate for 100 developers is about $28,800 a year, comfortably under a quarter of that, so on the one rate we can check the financial case for hosted is clear. For the quote-only vendors, ask what their number is and hold it against the same $117,000 line.
What does hosted Backstage NOT remove?
Plugin authoring (you still write the integrations specific to your stack), content debt (your TechDocs section stays empty until you assign writers), adoption work (office hours, scorecards, golden-path advocacy), and service-catalogue data discipline (the catalogue is only useful if entity data stays fresh). These are not platform-operations work and a hosted offering correctly does not promise to do them; they are the actual platform team's job. Hosted vs self-host changes the operations line, not these lines.
How is hosted Backstage priced compared to commercial IDPs like Port or Cortex?
Comparing published rates rather than bands: Roadie lists $24 per developer a month ($288 a year), Port lists $40 per seat a month on Standard ($480 a year), Cortex's AWS Marketplace SKU implies $780 a user a year, and Atlassian Compass lists $7.67 per user a month ($92 a year) for a lighter product. OpsLevel publishes nothing. So hosted Backstage via Roadie is the cheapest of the full-featured options on list rate, not merely level with them, and the category spread is wide rather than narrow. The strategic difference still matters more than the delta for most buyers: hosted Backstage is built on the open-source Backstage codebase and supports the full open-source plugin ecosystem, so you can take your plugins with you, while commercial IDPs are proprietary with their own extension model.
Can I migrate from hosted Backstage to self-hosted (or back) later?
Yes, with caveats. Hosted-to-self-host is a real migration project (typically two to four engineer-months) because the hosted vendor manages identity, auth, catalogue sync, and plugin registration on your behalf and you need to recreate those. Self-host-to-hosted is easier because you usually keep the same plugin set and just hand over operations. The key portability advantage versus commercial IDPs is that Backstage is the open-source common substrate either way, so your plugins, entity model, and templates port across hosted providers.
What is the upgrade cadence on hosted Backstage?
Hosted providers typically run a release behind upstream Backstage by one to two minor versions, which means you get the upstream features about two to four weeks after they ship publicly. They also absorb the breaking-change cycles on your behalf, so the platform team is freed of about 15 to 20 percent of a platform engineer's time long-term. That said, hosted providers cannot upgrade your custom plugins for you, so the part of the upgrade tax that is about keeping your own plugins compatible still falls to the platform team.

Updated 2026-06-09